littlepaperwings

Just another WordPress.com site

Post Pals and pen pals

on October 18, 2011

This past week marks the first week of the Etsy Greetings Team’s 52 Weeks of Mail project, and I am pleased to say that I sent out quite a bit of mail. I am not counting things I have sold on Ebay or bills, but that is just my personal choice, so that I cannot convince myself that I have done something for the week that hasn’t actually involved sitting down and writing a letter.

This week’s mail has been about two things that I love very much… Post Pals and pen pals. I have several long standing pen pals that I write to as often as I can and I have recently begun writing to a few more. I am always interested in writing to new people and I love getting mail from different countries. Post Pals however, is something that I only discovered a few weeks ago and is something that so many more people should know about. Post Pals is a UK based charity that encourages everyone to send a piece of mail to  sick or disabled child, and the website currently lists around 100 children who have asked to be put on their list to receive mail. Each child has a profile page where their parents can list what they like, how they are doing and to thank those who have sent things. The addresses listed are forwarding addresses, and the women who run the charity suffer from ME and know how much it can lift a person’s spirits to receive something in the mail.

I have promised myself that during 52 weeks of mail, I will send a card to each one of the children listed on the website. Today I mailed 9 cards off, so I still have a long way to go. I think this is a fantastic charity and that so many more people should know about it. It may not be changing lives, but it can brighten a child’s day.

 

2 responses to “Post Pals and pen pals

  1. Julie says:

    That’s a great idea! I’ve heard of this website before and I should send cards to some of these kids as well!

  2. Victoria / Justice Pirate says:

    that is a really cool organization. Thanks for sharing, as I had never heard of it! I love love love writing to people!!! It is so much fun.

Leave a Reply

